Lafayette, Louisiana

The drive to Lafayette was another long one. I was actually pretty glad I didn’t stay out in Austin when I saw the state of the group members who did stay out!

We were all expecting a hotel so it was a bit of a surprise to drive up to the blue moon guesthouse. It was seriously cool inside though, all the furniture was mismatched and there were all different colours and paintings on the wall. I really liked it here. All the girls were in one big room and the guys were in another room.

After we had got settled in our rooms, we headed out for some dinner. This was a very special dinner though, as we had decided to have a hat party where everyone had to wear hats. Mine was clearly the best (and I found it in a dollar store so it was even better):

20120728-230425.jpg

The restaurant we were eating at was full of serious Christians. It also had a dance hall, which had big windows so those dining could watch those dancing. It was pretty cute to watch the guys in their shirts and trousers going up to girls in their long dresses asking them for a dance. One guy asked a girl in our group for a dance and even showed her all the dance moves and everything. Super cute!

The highlight of the night for me was eating alligator. It’s true what they say, it really does taste like chicken…

When we got back from dinner I got some laundry done. The dryer wasn’t great so I constructed myself a laundry bed which was actually pretty good to sleep in. I felt like a kid who had made a fort out of blankets.

20120728-230807.jpg

Leave a comment